God’s presence is home

Pearl Serite is a student at the University of Botswana pursuing Bachelor’s Degree in Accountancy. Born and raised in Serowe in a family where she is the first born child. She fellowships at Pentecostal Holiness Church,Gaborone. Her relationship with music is one of a complete devotion especially songs that minister to her. She stands firm with Isaiah 41:10.Enjoy!

Are we running from God or to Him? Heading away on the highway of life, or returning home? Or doing the back and forth route which seems to be fun? Sadly this world is full of ‘prodigal sons’, going their way for a while and then desperate to find their way home, but not knowing which way to go. They think of running away from home. Simply for reasons best known to themselves. Independence, self-confidence, autonomy you name it.

Well I must admit that at one point in time I thought of departing from home (particularly from people). Away from my country. Away from all those that know me and those who think know me because I felt I needed a break. From the heartaches and all the troubles that life threw at me. I was tired. But I was hopeless, as to where I was planning to go and what I was going to do.

All I wanted was comfort and a fresh start in a different land while in solitude. However there came a time when I was there by myself. I began to make sense out of my feelings with regards to Deuteronomy 31:8 “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you.”

I reasoned with God. My Father words of assurance consumed all my ‘run-away crazy thoughts’. I must have been stupid, I thought to myself.

Why think of running away to a place where it’s not my true home which let alone is not the Eternal home- the place where we really belong.

It is worth noting that we all have our images of home. My definition of home is far much different from yours. Some would say home is where the heart is. So why choose to run away from such an integral part of life, the centre of emotions? How then do you survive? As for me, home is not just a building, a garden which blossoms with flowers and a pit latrine toilet at the far left corner.

Home is made of people who are not only existing but also living.

At the end of the day, home is where God is. Seeing our Father, running down the passages of heaven to welcome us as we sing Papa nkokodi (Daddy daddy). Surely we would know where we really belong; ‘Back Home’. The sheep which was lost was not safe at “the so-called home” and for that reason, the Shepherd had to go out and bring it back. Same applies to the lost treasure, which should have been kept safely at home, not buried in some distant field. But it was found and brought back home just like I was found.

The point is, Home is being with God; happy in His presence, now and forever. For God plans to make His home with you and me. Incredible! But here is a big question, do we truly long for that day? When there is still much to do here, to try to make a ‘temporary home’ for others to come into and find God.

No matter how much we choose to become unresponsive to the great high calling of spreading the gospel. We have a mission, a great commission of reconciliation. Reconcile others to Christ.

For we have been purchased for a purpose. Not to be slaves of fear for we are children of God, the kind you would expect to find at home. God’s home. So where are you? Don’t we all wish to be home one day? Our eternal home with God.

‘Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me. All the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever’ (Psalm 23:6). This verse reminds my mind to imagine the great home-coming day. It drives me further to imagining my place in God’s home. No criticisms or complaints, no sarcastic comments. Just warm acceptance. I picture God saying ‘it’s good to have you home my child.’ As if I had never left. How sweet. The Eternal future with The loving Lord. Jesus tells us, “if anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him and we will come to Him and make our home with him.” (John 14:23).

The astonishing truth that God comes to us to make His home with us! Restored, forgiven and wholly accepted. Moreover Jesus pointed to the way home and the assurance that he would come to take us home with him;

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” (John 14:1-3)

 Home forever with our loving God.Are we ready?

With Love, PS.

2 thoughts on “God’s presence is home

Leave a Reply

